Iowa State

Posted on April 29, 2013

2


Time to get back into my project! Iowa State University.

Iowa State University is located in Ames, Iowa and has a student body size of roughly 31,040. The campus is considered urban, similar in the way that St Cloud State University is.

Iowa State University has a diverse selection of graduate programs, especially within their English programs. I personally am interested in their M.A. in English with a Specialization in Literature but they also have six other programs for their students.

Ranking: Overall, ISU ranks #101 in the U.S. News & World Report ranking of national universities and #21 in the Washington Monthly rankings. US News Ranking also puts it at #106 for English.

Application Fee: $40

Requirements: Click here for the requirements page. Iowa State, like the University of Minnesota, does require the GRE but unlike the U of M, Iowa State lists the preferred scores for the test. Their preferred GPA is even higher than the U of M, sitting at a 3.25 overall.

Funding: Iowa State offers funding like many of the other graduate programs I have researched do; teaching assistantships and tuition scholarships. Unlike the U of M (which also has an M.F.A. in Writing and that is where most of their funding goes), Iowa State seems to disburse the teaching assistantships more equally, leaving some funding for the Master of Arts students. Yay!

Faculty: Iowa State’s faculty page is similar to many of the other faculty pages that I have looked at. It is very similar to Winona, however their categorizing of their faculty confuses me a little. I’m not sure how much of a difference there is between distinguished professors and professors. I do understand the differences of assistant professor and adjunct at least. The list of professors is extensive, along with the interests and specialties.

I have to say that the Iowa State University’s website is pretty confusing for me. It took me an incredibly long time to find the information I was looking for. The website is extensive in the information that it does give, it is just hard to find. Maybe it’s because Iowa formats their university websites differently than Minnesota does. I’m not entirely sure. However that being said, I know that Iowa State is a pretty excellent program. This school could serve as a good vaulting board if I decided to go on for my M.F.A. or my PhD.

