Project Proposal for Weblogs and Wikis

Posted on March 22, 2013

2


A Chronological Recorded Search for Graduate School
Email: lfleming816@gmail.com
Blog: Rants Raves and Obsessions
Weekly Reflections: Rants Raves and Obsessions

Executive description
I want to document my process of researching and choosing a graduate school using the blog to link to the data I find. I am choosing to do this because it will help me to hone into my choices and narrow my scope, along with providing a writing space that I can reference back to if I need to.

Narrative
Recently, I have changed the degree that I wanted to pursue in Graduate School from an Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing to an Master of Arts in English. I am not knowledgeable in which school to choose for this degree and wanted the chance to explore my options. My hope is by the end of this project, I will have gained enough knowledge to make a decision on which schools to apply to.

Each week I will research two schools that have M.A. degrees in English. This will be roughly ten schools total. I may possibly do more if there are more schools that pique my interest. I will choose the schools based on prior recommendations, rank based on research, and regions I am interested in living. I will not only look at their programs, I will attempt to reach out and network with the school and also search for articles and feedback about the program. I will post an average of 3 to 5 blogs a week, not counting the Sunday Reflections. Below are some of the schools I am already considering.

  • University of Minnesota
  • Iowa State University
  • University of New Orleans
  • Oregon State University
  • University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • Mankato State University
  • Winona State University
  • St. Cloud State University

I chose to use a blog as my media because the blog will be a more chronological record. I want to be able to go back and reflect upon the research I have done. If the Universities I am examining have a blogroll, I will subscribe to them. I will link back to as many web pages and articles I can find, along with images that contribute to my blog.

I hope that personally, this project will help me make a decision about my future. I also hope that I will network out to some of these potential school and faculty members to build relationships. As for contributing to the wider community, I hope my blog could possibly give insight into students in my similar situations on why or why not they should choose a graduate program at a particular school.

Contract for Grade
For this project I will be contracting for 150 points. I will post between 3 to 5 times a week, not including my weekly reflection on Sunday. Each of these blogs will be from 500 to 1500 words a post. I will link back to the resources I find, along with including images when they are illuminating.

My Calendar

  • Week 1 (March 25th – March 31st): 4-6 posts.
  • Week 2 (April 1st – April 7th): 8-10 posts.
  • Week 3 (April 8th – April 14th): 12-18 posts.
  • Week 4 (April 15th – April 21st): 16-24 posts.
  • Week 5 (April 22nd – April 29th): 20-28 posts.
  • April 30th: Reflection, gather notes (Final blog, possibly decision).
  • May 1st: Meet in class compare notes.
  • May 2013: Meet on final’s day for presentation.
    *Note* This does include my Sunday Posts.
