Fictional Blogging; Publishing, Dracula, Cosmopolitan, and Manolo Blahnik! Oops, I mean, The Manolo.

Posted on February 20, 2013

2


I’m going to talk about a couple of different topics in Chapter 18 that piqued my interest along with a few that left me wondering. I am not entirely thrilled over the idea of Blogs used as a Publishing Tool. Angela Thomas lists the positive attributes of a blog being used as a publishing tool, talking about the benefits of having almost instant readers feedback. She also mentions that there is nothin200g unique about this writing form. “Instead, what is unique is the quick and easy blog commenting mechanism for relatively instant feedback and critique.” (pg. 200, The Uses of Blogs)
When I first began looking at graduate schools, what my professors told me that was more important than my GPA or my GRE scores was that I was able to show them my worth as a writer. That is the primary focus of M.F.A.’s. The best way to do this was to get work published, especially if you could by esteemed journals, reviews, and magazines. Success was now tied into being a published writer.
So now, let’s look at blogs. Anyone can get a blog on Livejournal, WordPress, or Blogger. Then anyone can write whatever they want on their blogs and publish it. Anyone in turn can promote these things. Now let’s say they are poems or short stories or even a longer piece of fiction. It’s published, so is it worth the same level of credit? Do these fictional blogs have the same value? I can’t answer. I genuinely don’t know. I can see two sides to this; It is good because maybe it really is good and you are good. In turn maybe it is also good because it can provide a hard learning lesson. Trolls are vicious.

Then Thomas brought up something that I thought was beyond cool; Dracula Blogged. By the way guys did you know kindle will publish your blogs? Dracula Blogged shared this. Ugh. That concerns me even more about the topics I talked about above. But this is pretty awesome! This blog is supposed to be an online reading group, with the comments being used to discuss the finer points of the novel. What literary nerd doesn’t love that idea?

When reading the section of Blogs being used as a writing device, I couldn’t help but thinking about reading Cosmopolitan a few years ago and a story they had created surrounding a female blogger and her adventures in love and sexual trysts. I decided to look around and see if I could find some trace of these stories. Well… I did not find something on those articles but I did find something else on Cosmo’s website that plays into Fictional Blogging. I think anything entitled J’s Bedroom Blog should come with an 18+ warning label. However this plays into some of the elements discussed in the chapter so I still find it relevant.

The last thing I want to spend tonight talking about is SHOES. More specifically fabulous thousand dollar shoes. With a pretty specific name attached to them.

“Oh my God! Do you know what these are? Manolo Blahnik Mary Janes! I thought these were an urban shoe myth!” – Carrie, Sex and the City. (Yes, I am aware these are not black or patent or Mary Janes, but they are just as beautiful!)

Sigh. Beautiful Thousand Dollar Shoes. I prefer Christian Louboutin shoes but this is all actually beside the point. Because when Thomas is referring to Manolo, she is not referring to the world renowned shoe designer. She is referring to The Manolo. However Manolo Blahnik and The Manolo do have something in common; shoes. Manolo Blahnik makes them, The Manolo blogs about them. Below is an excerpt about The Manolo blog.

“Since first appearing in October, 2004, his website, Manolo’s Shoe Blog, has become one of the best read fashion sites on the internet, and the Manolo himself has been praised by authorities as various as the Wall Street Journal, Vogue, Fortune, the Sydney Morning Herald, The Guardian, and the master shoe designer himself, Manolo Blahnik, for his eccentric, erudite, and at times outrageous sense of humor, and for his extensive knowledge of shoes and fashion.”

Even though this is an example of a blog used for commercial purposes, Thomas still highlights many of it’s important flairs. Not only is the blog engaging, witty, and insightful, the commercial subplot of the blog is subtle enough that the blogs readers do not feel entitled to purchase the products. “While the character is fictional, the witticisms  are heartfelt, and the readers are never quite certain where the fiction ends and the reality begins.” (pg. 207, Uses of Blogs) The Manolo has even expanded upon his website, adding categories to the various areas of fashion (i.e. Manolo for the Brides, Manolo for the Men, and Teeny Manolo). He also has more than just himself blogging on fashion now! He has helpers now. Manolo with editors! I think his blog is incredibly enjoyable, not just because he uses Hollywood icons such as Marlo Brando (swoon) and Cary Grant (mega swoon) for style icons. Have I really talked about the commercial purposes? No. Because really, they are that dang subtle.

A pair of Christian Louboutins, just for comparison.

For next time, I am thinking Fanfiction, Middle Earth, and 50 Shades of Grey.

