Pseudonymous Blogging; Beginning Research

Posted on February 15, 2013

5


I was just beginning to do some research into Pseudonymous Blogging, which always begins with a Google search for me (at least on the web). I just wanted to see what sort of things would pop out of my search engine.  was getting a lot of things from 2011 and I wanted to find something that was a little bit more recent. So I filtered my results down to just this year. I did come across many interesting things.

In Chapter 12, Jill Walker focuses mainly on academic pseudonymous blogging. However more in the research that I did online, I saw the reasons more varied. I found an interesting article written by Ari Kohen about the problem of online anonymity. He also had written this article in March talking about the same issues and blogging as a follow up, along to responding to many of the holes that people had poked into his article.

He grabs my interest immediately in his second paragraph, linking me back to THIS ARTICLE.

“The issue has come back with a vengeance in the past thirty-six hours, as a particularly influential and unpleasant anonymous Redditor named Violentacrez — who is perhaps now most famous for running several Subreddits devoted to pictures of unsuspecting young women, taken without their knowledge or consent — was unmasked as mild-mannered Michael Brutsch.”

WOAH! I don’t know if that grabs anyone’s attention but that certainly grabbed mine! So I digressed from my original article, reading about what Brutsch had done under his psuedonym. Needless to say, I am not impressed and no longer sure how I feel about pseudonymous blogging. But back to the original post by Kohen.

“There’s certainly something important about the option of anonymity so you’ll never read an argument entirely against it from me. But it can also be a weapon and the people who use it to bully others are threatening to silence those who require anonymity in order to speak at all by encouraging the rest of us to generally ignore anonymous or pseudonymous authors.”

This is not something that I originally thinking of when I read Walker’s “Blogging from Inside the Ivory Tower.” Walker took more of an academic and scholarly approach to blogging while I feel Kohen is appealing to blogging as a whole. And frankly, I have to agree with him. In my experience with blogging, I have read more blogs by people that I really feel should not be blogging (Tying into that whole idea of ‘If you don’t have anything interesting to say, you should shut your filthy mouth.’) than blogs that have honestly engaged me and got me thinking about things. Perhaps this is because I have not explored many blogs besides My Favorite Author’s Blog, Pinterest Blogs, and the occasional photo blog on tumblr. Often when I am online looking for reliable sources, I try to search for articles by The Huffington Post, Washington Post, or The New York Times.

This has definitely raised some concerns and hard questions to chew over when it comes to pseudonymous blogging. For the next blog I want to look at more academically based pseudonymous blogs. But it is getting a little late for me and I have had a long day. Goodnight all!

