Week III; Aint Nobody Got Time

Posted on February 4, 2013

4


It’s interesting in my RSS Feed looking at what everyone has posted and I am starting to notice a common theme; Time. Or Lack there of. I am also noticing a gathering shift in this class; People that know exactly what they are doing and who are doing it extensively and people who don’t have a freaking clue. Where am I? Somewhere between apathetic and clueless. I am positive that I am not the only college students who works two jobs, almost full time, and also is a full time student with a 17 credit load of work. So how much time of mine is cut just by working my jobs alone? Oh yeah about six hours a shift. Let’s throw a family tragedy in there, like a grandparent dying. That really doesn’t leave much time to spend coming up with something up to standards for this class, both for the class standards and my own.

Have I been working on a concept for a project in this class? Yes. I am examining how authors use blogs and promoting themselves. I have been referencing back to Jacob’s insight on publishing and blogs, along with figuring out which authors blogs I want to examine. Have I finished this yet? No. Will I finish soon? Absolutely. Did I miss the deadline? Yes. Will I probably fail the course because of it? From what I have heard definitely. Does this seem fair to me? No. Maybe the reason it seems that I don’t seem engaged in this class is because I am not. Maybe a part of the reason why I don’t feel engaged is because I don’t feel like I have a good sense of direction or time.

Let’s refer to what is expected to be in these comments

• How well do you feel you completed the requirements of the week’s assignments?
Well clearly I am not finished with these assignments yet. Time management can be to blame for this (meaning myself) but it is also hard to manage time when you’re in pretty short stock.
• What gave you trouble? How did you work your way through that What did you enjoy most? What did you learn? What else did you learn?
I have been struggling a lot this week, if this post has not already made this apparent. I am still figuring things out and getting my feet under me. We will revisit this when the next post is complete.
• What would you do differently? What questions do you have?
I would have time managed differently. Or learned how to time travel.
• How does your work connect with the topics and issues we’ve looked at already? With the topics and issues of the course as a whole? Where does your work this week fit into the whole?
I will revisit this question too when I am done with my next post.

So these are my weekly reflections. I don’t have much else to say right now. I will check back in again when I do.

Posted in: Uncategorized