Weekly Reflections and RSS Feed

Posted on January 28, 2013

1


Well this week has been a bit of a doozie for me. I had a root canal on Friday and immediately after had to make an emergency trip to Iowa with my boyfriend so I’ve been off and on by internet and able to work! But I have been trying hard to get my posts up and comments made.

Let’s talk a little bit about the RSS Feed. I have two, the one with WordPress and one with Google Reader. I really liked the comment that Joe Stusynski made in his blog, “RSSing New Tool that is Often Forgotten”. He states that RSS feeds are an easy way to “streamline information and is like facebook for smart people.” This is not only hilarious but very much true! RSS Feeds help to place what the reader considers important information (blogs, online newspapers, etc.) all in one place! WordPress has one for blogs that we are following and I also have one through Google Reader. I am still playing around with the two of them. I haven’t quite decided which one I like better but I will reblog when I do!
As for this class I have been trying to post regularly but I don’t want to post crap. It’s like when I write something; I want to write something that people actually want to read. The same goes for my blogs. I don’t want to read people’s crappy half assed put together blog posts; I have no interest in that. Give me something I will be interested in. Even if it isn’t entertaining, find a way to at least make it interesting. I try to do the same thing when I write these blogs. I don’t want my readers to be bored to tears. This is also why sometimes it takes me awhile to get my posts up.
As for the topics that we covered this week, I found them enlightening. It is interesting how much I am like Matt and Professor Morgan I am when it comes to the manual. I don’t necessarily think it is a man thing but just the different ways that people learn. I think that I am one of those people who learns better by playing around with something first (i.e. my iphone, this blog, etc.) than consulting the book/manual if I have a question about it. I found all of the topics that we talked about incredibly enlightening. I also find twitter much more entertaining now that I have found Grumpy Cat to follow. Because Tartar Sauce is adorable. I hope that this covers a lot of my weekly reflections, I’m not entirely sure what I am supposed to focus on.

