John Cage, CC, and Intellectual Property

Posted on January 25, 2013

7


I have decided I want to cover my RSS feed and Google Reader blog on Saturday. I will be getting a root canal tomorrow and expect to be incapacitated for at least half of the day tomorrow. So I am sorry to my classmates for comments that are either too early or a little late! But let’s talk about John Cage and his rules a little bit.

 JohnCage

I found a TON of really amazing information about this Music Theorist/Composer/Magician. Most of his information can be found on this website here (CLICK ME). Now what’s the big deal with this list? Well actually the original list was made by a Sister Corita Kent which she created as part of a project for a class she taught in 1967-1968. So they are not necessarily John Cage’s Rules? Okay so… Why is John Cage important to this? Well the 10th Rule is actually a direct quote from him. Merce Cunningham, the love of John Cage’s life and life long partner, kept a copy of this list in his office and studio until he died.

“The list draws upon Bertrand Russell’s 10 commandments of teaching,the importance of embracing uncertainty, the pivotal role of work ethic, the intricate osmosis between intuition and intellect, and the crucial habit of being fully awake to everything.” (I got this quote from this website)

So that lists off some pretty heavy hitters  there: Commandments, Embracing Uncertainty, Work Ethic, Osmosis and Crucial Habits of Being Awake. Oh My! I don’t think I have had quite enough coffee to cover all of these things.

Now where do I think this list belongs? Everywhere. I do have to say that I think it is sad that these Rules are so contributed to John Cage online when they are really the work of Sister Corita Kent. It really reminds me of something like this.

Abraham

P.S. This is just a very cool article I found in The New Yorker about one of John Cage’s most well-known compositions, “4’33”. Cage’s Silence and Noise

NOW, What about that Intellectual Property versus Copyright? And what about all of that CC Business?
Let’s try to touch on that too. But I have to admit, a lot of this research I have been doing under a time crunch (time crunch being I have to go work for that big bad corporation Target and push product around on the floor) and the ticking time bomb of my root canal have left my brain hurting… But bloggers don’t quit right? Okay… Let’s start with something easy, like definitions and links. I like those.

This website really helped to break down both intellectual property. Which was a relief. I don’t want my brain to explode! This seems very straightforward to me; it even categorizes the information further between Industrial Property and Copyright. However this leaves just a TON of gray area for online resources. So I decided to figure out what Intellectual Property and Copyright meant for the internet. That is where I came across this webpage. Okay cool more information. But now we’re switching to that CC Business.

CC stands for Creative Commons. What is Creative Commons? Yay more links! From what I have been reading about Creative Commons, it is specific copyright licenses for web-based property. What do I think about this? I feel like this vital with how technology is changing so quickly. We need more copyright protection for online intellectual property, especially for blogs, videos, audios and electronic publishing. Do I personally think I need it?

Hmmm…

Well I just recently had a poem accepted for an online publication at BSU called Cre8. Which is very awesome and I suggest that all of you submit to it! What is also awesome is that I will be doing the first audio poem published on the anthology. This is all so cool and new! But do I want someone being able to take my audio and not give me credit for my poem? I don’t think so. But let’s get back to this class; Weblogs and Wiki’s. I personally, on this blog, don’t feel like I would be saying anything much of relevance that people would want to steal anyways. But just in case… let’s protect that #@^&!

